The Lincoln Highway
National Museum & Archives
102 Old Lincoln Way West
Galion, Ohio 44833

(202) 536-5329



1922--America's First Radio Tour--1922
Detroit to San Francisco in a Rickenbacker

In 1922 Radio was the new kid on the block.

Keeping with their tradition of firsts,
the Lincoln Highway Association
along with the Detroit Board of Commerce
and the Detroit Auto Club
sponsored America's First Radio Tour.

The idea being to showcase the new radio equiped autos
by giving a series scheduled Concerts along the way.

Two Rickenbaker automobiles weres selected for the expedition
from a large field of entrants due to its advanced vibrationless motor.

The lead car carried an exceptionally powerful and sensitive radio
receiving set designed by Thomas Clark and built by Tecla Labs in Detroit.

In addition there were and two powerful antenas,
The first was a compactly built 200 foot loop on the top and the
second an emergency 200 foot aerial located on the running board.

The second went along as a supply car to carry sufficient radio replacemenet parts
for constant service throughout the trip.

Wallace Blood and William Heinz, both Detroit business men and expert radio operators
were in charge of the tour and were accompanied by their wifes.

World War I Ace, Captain Eddie Rickenbaker was even on hand
to wish them well on their 40 day-2800 mile journey across the continent.

When the tour arrived in San Francisco on July 10, Mrs Blood said,

"Every night we would tune in, no matter where we were
along the Lincoln Highway.

One night, when we were nearing Omaha, we listened to Eddie Cantor
and Fanny Brice, who are with the Follies in New York.

We had a vaudville star for an entertainer nearly every evening."

Mrs. Blood even spoke of Sunday Evening sacred Concerts picked up
while touring the Deserts and Forests.

1922--America's First Radio Tour--1922
Detroit to San Francisco in a Rickenbacker
DAY WEEK DATE CITY STATE
1 Thursday June 1, 1922 Detroit MI
2 Friday June 2, 1922 ***
***
3 Saturday June 3, 1922 ***
***
4 Sunday June 4, 1922 *** ***
5 Monday June 5, 1922 *** ***
6 Tuesday June 6, 1922 *** ***
7 Wedensday June 7, 1922 *** ***
8 Thursday June 8, 1922 *** ***
9 Friday June 9, 1922 *** ***
10 Saturday June 10, 1922 *** ***
11 Sunday June 11, 1922 *** ***
12 Monday June 12, 1922 *** ***
13 Tuesday June 13, 1922 *** ***
14 Wedensday June 14, 1922 *** ***
15 Thursday June 15, 1922 *** ***
16 Friday June 16, 1922 *** ***
17 Saturday June 17, 1922 *** ***
18 Sunday June 18, 1922 *** ***
19 Monday June 19, 1922 *** ***
20 Tuesday June 20, 1922 *** ***
21 Wedensday June 21, 1922 *** ***
22 Thursday June 22, 1922 *** ***
23 Friday June 23, 1922 *** ***
24 Saturday June 24, 1922 *** ***
25 Sunday June 25, 1922 *** ***
26 Monday June 26, 1922 *** ***
27 Tuesday June 27, 1922 *** ***
28 Wedensday June 28, 1922 *** ***
29 Thursday June 29, 1922 *** ***
30 Friday June 30, 1922 *** ***
31 Saturday July 1, 1922 *** ***
32 Sunday July 2, 1922 *** ***
33 Monday July 3, 1922 *** ***
34 Tuesday July 4, 1922 *** ***
35 Wedensday July 5, 1922 *** ***
36 Thursday July 6, 1922 *** ***
37 Friday July 7, 1922 *** ***
38 Saturday July 8, 1922 *** ***
39 Sunday July 9, 1922 *** ***
40 Monday July 10, 1922 San Francisco CA
Press Coverage
DAY DATE PAPER HEAD LINE PAGE COL SIZE PHOTO VIEW
Tues*20 June 20 Galion Inquirer First Radio Tour Over Lincoln Highway *** 2 PR-10" *** Click
Sun*25 June 25 San Francisco Chronicle Radio Tour on Way to Coast A2 4 PR-10" 1 Click
Sun*32 July 2 San Francisco Chronicle Radio Cars on Way to Coast A7 8 5" *** Click
Wed+2 July 12 San Francisco Examiner Radio Machine Ends US Trip 7 6 6" *** Click
Wed+2 July 12 San Francisco Chronicle Radio Autos Make Continental Trip II-13 5 5" *** Click
Italic Type Denotes Advertiser
Click on Hyperlink to View Image


HOME


Designed By: The Starman

You are Visitor #

Since August 6, 2002